Skip to content

We may be paid when you use partner links. Who pays us never changes what we show. How we make money

Guide: EIN from abroad

How to get an EIN without an SSN

If your business is based outside the US, call the IRS at 267-941-1099 or fax Form SS-4; there is no fee either way. With an ITIN and a US place of business, the online tool works too.

$0
IRS fee for an EIN, by any method
4 days
About how long a faxed application takes

Internal Revenue Service, read Oct 7, 2026. See source

A young man unlocks the door of his new workshop on the first morning.
On this page
  1. Key facts
  2. Four ways to apply
  3. Applying by phone from outside the US
  4. What to write where the SSN goes
  5. When an ITIN is the better route
  6. Phone or fax, step by step
  7. Services that include the EIN step
  8. EIN questions
  9. Sources

Key facts

  • The IRS never charges for an EIN1.
  • The online tool needs an SSN or ITIN and a US principal place of business1.
  • From abroad: phone 267-941-1099, Monday to Friday, 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. Eastern2.
  • Fax Form SS-4 to 304-707-9471 from outside the US (855-215-1627 inside it); mail takes about 4 weeks2.
  • One EIN per day, whatever the method2.

Four ways to apply

MethodWho can use itHow longCost
Online tool1US principal place of business and an SSN or ITINIssued immediately if approvedFree
Phone (international)3No legal residence, principal place of business or office in the USNot stated by the sourceFree; the number is not toll free
Fax (Form SS-4)2Anyone; 304-707-9471 from outside the USAbout 4 business days, if you give a fax numberFree
Mail (Form SS-4)2Anyone; EIN International Operation, Cincinnati, OH 45999About 4 weeksFree

Read October 7, 2026, on irs.gov. The IRS warns that high inventory can delay fax and mail applications. Not stated means the IRS page did not give a time.

Applying by phone from outside the US

The SS-4 instructions say that if you have no legal residence, principal place of business or principal office in the US, you can call 267-941-1099 (not a toll-free number), 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. Eastern, Monday to Friday, to obtain an EIN. The caller must be authorized to receive the EIN and answer questions about Form SS-4, so fill in the form before you call3.

Someone else can call for you as a third-party designee if you complete and sign that section of the form; their authority ends when the EIN is assigned3.

What to write where the SSN goes

The application names a responsible party, the person who controls the entity, with an SSN, ITIN or EIN2. The SS-4 instructions add that a nonresident alien with no effectively connected income from US sources enters "N/A" and does not need an SSN or ITIN3. Nominees cannot apply for an EIN2.

When an ITIN is the better route

An ITIN is a 9-digit number for people who need a US tax ID for a federal tax purpose, for example a nonresident alien filing a US federal tax return, and who cannot get an SSN4. You include the tax return in the ITIN application package; the IRS says to allow 7 weeks, or 9 to 11 weeks in tax season or when you apply from overseas4.

With an ITIN and a principal place of business in the US you can use the online EIN tool, which issues the number immediately if approved1. Without a US place of business, phone or fax is still the route1.

Phone or fax, step by step

  1. Step 1

    Form the LLC first

    The IRS asks you to register the LLC with the state before you apply.

  2. Step 2

    Fill in Form SS-4

    Name, address, entity type and the responsible party; N/A where the SSN would go if that applies to you.

  3. Step 3

    Call or fax

    Phone Monday to Friday, 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. Eastern; fax any time.

  4. Step 4

    Keep the EIN notice

    Banks ask for it. The yearly Form 5472 needs it too.

Services that include the EIN step

Doing it yourself costs nothing. doola includes the EIN in Starter6; Inc Authority lists a free EIN with formation and says you can also apply on IRS.gov yourself at no charge7.

Good for a free EIN listed with a $0 formation

Inc Authority

EIN
Listed as free with formation
Listed price
$0 plus state fees
Checked
Oct 7, 2026
What to check first
  • Whether it can apply for an owner without an SSN
  • The registered agent price after year one
  • Which add-ons you actually need

Good for founders abroad who want the EIN handled with the formation

doola

EIN
Included in Starter ($297/yr plus state fees)
Listed price
Starter $297/yr plus state fees
Checked
Oct 7, 2026
What to check first
  • The fee renews every year
  • Whether you need the bundle or only the EIN
  • The IRS route is free if you do it yourself

Bizee

EIN filing service
$70
LLC formation packages
Basic $0, Standard $199, Premium $299, plus state fee
Checked
Oct 7, 2026
See prices on BizeeOpens Bizee's site. Not a referral link.

Also on Bizee's site

EIN questions

Does my LLC need an EIN?

The IRS lists LLCs among the entities that need an EIN to operate2. A foreign-owned single-member LLC also files Form 5472 each year5.

Can I apply for two EINs on the same day?

No. The IRS issues one EIN per responsible party per day12.

Should I pay a website for an EIN?

You never have to. The IRS warns about websites that charge for one1.

Sources

  1. Get an employer identification numberInternal Revenue Service, read Oct 7, 2026
  2. Employer identification numberInternal Revenue Service, read Oct 7, 2026
  3. Instructions for Form SS-4 (12/2025)Internal Revenue Service, read Oct 7, 2026
  4. Individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN)Internal Revenue Service, read Oct 7, 2026
  5. Instructions for Form 5472 (12/2024)Internal Revenue Service, read Oct 7, 2026
  6. Pricingdoola, read Oct 7, 2026
  7. Free LLC (home page)Inc Authority, read Oct 7, 2026

About this page

We may be paid when you use partner links on this page.

FormationFile is not a law firm, accountant, insurer or broker, and nothing here is legal, tax or insurance advice. We do not file anything for you and do not refer you to lawyers.

Prices and state fees are what the named source published on the date we read it. The state's own filing office and the provider's own page are the final word on fees and terms.